Eco Dive Center
spacer spacer
   

 Thumbs up Eco Dive Center   Here you'll find some client testimonials from not so happy customers to student divers and customers claiming we're the best dive shop and best scuba instructors in the whole world. Well.... we don't know about that, we do know that we make 99% of our customers happy and really excited about being scuba divers. Does that help? Read our reviews and maybe write one yourself.

 

Add Your Review

Sean Dyer on 2015-02-24 17:22:53
Hi there,

Love Ecodivecenter.com! Ron and Beth ROCK!!!
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Scooter Johns on 2012-08-28 11:11:46
My girlfriend and I just completed the PADI Open Water course with the Eco Dive Center. Adam James (AJ) was our instructor and we were very pleased. I have been an avid open water swimmer and sometime snorkeler for years so scuba diving was the next logical step. My girlfriend had done a couple of resort dives but neither of us knew what we were in for until we took the class. While the course can be challenging, it is extremely do-able! AJ and the rest of the staff were very accommodating throughout the entire process. From assembling our rental gear, suggesting what to buy, helpful review of the study material, patient instruction at the pool and amazing open water dives at Catalina and Anacapa Islands, AJ really strived to make our experience as thorough and enjoyable as possible. We really felt like he cared and wanted us to become life-long divers. And now we're certified! I would suggest this course to anyone.
  • Currently 4.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Jon Barnes on 2012-08-22 01:45:47
I don’t normally write reviews, but at work today we got to discussing feedback of employees and customers. So, decided to take a moment and recognize someone who provided me with great service. My wife bought a gift certificate for diving lessons at Eco Dive Center. I had a bit of a glitch getting everything working through the website, but got set up for class and went in to get fitted for the equipment. After filing out the paperwork, I was introduced to my instructor, AJ. He got me fitted with equipment and wetsuit first try after asking me a few questions, and took time to ensure I understood differences on pieces I was interested in buying. I felt good coming out of the shop and confident and comfortable with my instructor. Classes the first weekend went really well and considering the mixed group of ages in the class I was quite impressed at how AJ worked with each of us individually and had us mixing well together. ( I am a former Water Safety Instructor and always found that having mixed age group with big gaps between people created a challenge to keep everyone’s attention. ) We all had a great time and felt our confidence growing. So much that I decided to go ahead and purchase more equipment. Eco Dive Center will reduce your equipment purchase by the cost of the class if you buy a full set up, so having the bug I dove on in. As my luck would have it, my instructor was there and able to help me with picking out the equipment. Not only that, but he stayed after the shop was supposed to close to take enough time for me to get through all my questions. AJ was very patient, extremely so, considering he had someone waiting for him. In the pool the next day I had a bit of a struggle with the aluminum tank causing me to be a bit out of balance. AJ again took time after class to work with me in ensuring that everything was working just right. The following day was final certification and I had everything set thanks to AJ. Great diving conditions as we got our certification, our final dive was a lot of fun, everyone in the class was feeling good and we all enjoyed our diving experience. The extra attention I received definitely helped and I will certainly be going back for additional training. Hopefully I will get AJ again for my next class.

Thanks Eco Dive Center for the experience so far!!
If you are reading this I hope you will take the time to recognize someone who goes above and beyond in helping you. I think if we all do that it will help make the world a better place.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Kelsey Remmes on 2012-01-16 17:15:50
I drove over an hour and half each day for my open water certification and it was the best choice I have ever made. One of the owners Ron went way over and beyond with helping me get all my gear. Kelly was my instructor and made the group and I feel very comfortable and confident in the water. She was patient and helped everyone in the group individually. I would highly recommend Kelly as an instructor she is very professional and she knows what she is doing. The dives we went on were spectacular. I loved this experience. Everyone at ECO Dive Center was so helpful and I got to meet a great group of dive buddies. The best part in all this was that everything came at a great price including the certification and the gear.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Dennis Young on 2011-06-24 15:07:42
I can't believe I waited this long to get certified. I just turned 46 and have been wanting to go SCUBA diving for a long time and finally got certified. The team at ECO were great. Equipment they supplied were in good condition and well maintained but the most important thing was how patient they were with a newbie such as myself. My dive master Dan Rood was great and made the learning experience very enjoyable. Carlos also helped out even though he didn't have to and made the boat trips feel very safe. I would definitely recommend ECO Dive to anybody interested in learning to SCUBA dive.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Helen Brierley on 2011-05-01 13:39:06
We did our dry suit certification with Eco Dive Center recently and found the whole experience brilliant! Shane did our classroom stuff - he was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Carlos did our pool and open water sessions with us and really went out of his way to make us feel comfortable with every aspect of the course. He could not have been more helpful and really put masses of extra effort into making sure everything went well, that we stayed safe and that we enjoyed the whole experience (and passed of course). We will be heading out on trips with the team in the near future without a doubt.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
UW Xplorer on 2011-02-19 10:39:02
I've been "with" Eco Dive Center for what seems forever now. Thanks to their training and friendly support, I went on from being a clumsy, scared, puking diver to an enthusiastic underwater videographer. There is no better place in LA to learn scuba, make diver friends, get on local boat trips (some of which are for advanced divers only - meaning they are double the fun), tropical ones or even lousy mine dive trips (just kidding Ron), buy gear at the best price bar none or get it fixed or checked. etc, you name it. I don't know what I would do without Eco Dive Center!
  • Currently 3.50/5
(2 votes)
Stephan Su on 2011-01-10 19:26:56
Took the PADI Night diving course with Carlos in the summer of 2010. Conditions for the dives weren't the best. But Carlos did a great job teaching all of the necessary skills for the course (and then some).

If you ever have to take a class from an instructor, Carlos is a great one to have.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Christopher Welton on 2010-12-19 17:40:34
great staff - carlos is very skilled and professional
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Daniel Tien on 2010-12-18 00:59:38
Eco is the ultimate in you get what you pay for--in the good sense. When I was looking for initial training in SCUBA, I found places that were relatively inexpensive--however, they were not the most helpful.

Once in a while, Ron will throw a crazy sale in appreciation to his customers, and you'll be able to stock up on equipment for less than what you can get online. The same with boat tickets and certification classes. The place is definitely run for the love of diving; operation as a for-profit business seems to only be to serve that love.

Carlos was my dive instructor for Open Water, and he was awesome. His teaching methodology was excellent, as he explained concepts basic and arcane in overview, then in detail, and then in overview so that everyone proceeded on the same page. Every step of the way, he was very safety-minded and made sure that our class never broke ranks--something that requires incredible patience. If you or your loved one is the least bit nervous about diving, Carlos is the instructor to request.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Huma Javed on 2010-11-28 19:41:33
I highly recommend Eco Dive Center to anyone interested in getting their certification.

2 girlfriends & I planned on doing a weekend cert. this past summer. The conditions were pretty rough, so we had to extend it out a few extra days. The EDC team, especially Carlos & Ron, was extremely helpful, accommodating & fun throughout the entire process. I really didn't know what I was getting myself into, so I had tons of questions & hesitations but they were very patient with me & worked with each of our crazy schedules & needs to get our cert. In the end, we all came out certified before our planned holiday's!

Another neat thing about EDC is that they make you feel a part of a family - they are always hosting fun events to help out with the community & bringing the dive community together.

Huge kudos to the entire Eco Dive Center Team!!!!
  • Currently 2.67/5
(3 votes)
Sebastien Roche-Lochen on 2010-11-26 23:46:01
I Recently finished my divemaster course trhough Eco Dive center and had all my other certifications through them as well. All the instructors are great teachers who will remain friends for the remainder of my diving career. I recently took a Nnitrox Class with Carlos who is one of the most thorough instructors at the club. He takes his job very seriously while maintaining a fun atmosphere in the class and always take the time to help the students with their difficulties. The entire staff wlays keeps you motivated to dive and they usually let you know when somebody goes diving so you can join them and get more dive experience. I am very happy I did nmy entire training with Eco Dive Center.
  • Currently 2.50/5
(2 votes)
Brian Davidson on 2010-10-27 13:07:25
Shane is a great instructor. My girlfriend & I both loved taking his OW class and have already signed up for our Advanced Open Water, also with Shane.

We both bought all of our dive gear through Eco, and while SCUBA isn't the cheapest hobby around, Shane worked with us to put together a great package discount.

Every time we're in the shop, we're always greeted by friendly staff who are always eager to help.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Doug Hall on 2010-10-27 11:45:13
Shane was my instructor and was great. Everything was straightforward, clear, and consistent. We were well prepared for our dives and everybody performed well and had a great time. If you're going to get certified, I totally recommend Eco Dive Center. The classes are the same price as everyone else in the area, if not cheaper, and everything was well run. They also have good options to buy gear once you finish the class.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Will Liu on 2010-10-11 19:28:20
I just completed my two week PADI Open Water Scuba Certification and want to thank our instructor Tim Yeo!!! He was the best instructor ever. Tim was an extremely knowledgeable and experience diver and instructor. He was great teacher and patient with all of us. He was very helpful and super proactive in making sure we had the best experience. He's very a friendly and funny guy and you wouldn't want any other scuba instructor teaching you after you've had Tim!!! First class all the way!!! Thanks for the amazing experience and lifelong memories!

I also want to give praise to Eco Dive Center. They do business like your favorite neighborhood mom and pop shop that care about making their customers happy. When something wasn't quite right, both Tim and Ron (the owner) didn't hesitate to resolve the issue and make everything good. Because of that, I have complete faith in Eco Dive Center as a customer friendly business that will take care of me. There's no doubt that I will be a loyal long-time customer of Eco and recommend them to all my friends just as all my diver friends have recommended Eco to me.

Also a thank you to Laura for helping me slowly pick out all my soft gear and Tony for helping me sign up for the course when I dropped into the shop.

I'm looking forward to a future of many dives with Eco Dive Center.
  • Currently 4.80/5
(5 votes)
Saif Rahman on 2010-09-12 23:45:41
Great, friendly and very helpful instructors. Definitely recommended!
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Alex Hoffman on 2010-09-03 21:06:33
Eco Dive Center is a top notch facility, from the gear to the instructors I have been very satisfied with them. I did my open water and advanced open water with them and feel that I definitely got my moneys worth. Even with bad weather conditions and boat cancellations they were very accommodating, rescheduling boats right away and making sure I got the best training possible. They also offer a huge selection of rental gear, you can almost always count on them to have the gear you need available for a weekend dive. I would highly recommend this shop.
  • Currently 5.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(1 vote)
Trina Miyahara on 2010-09-03 00:32:32
My sister, a friend and I signed up with Ron for a 2 day express Open Water Diver certification course. We have dove quite a bit in the past, but never got around to taking the time to get certified. We needed it quickly since we were all planning trips with diving in the itinerary very soon! We happened to choose a very poor weekend for diving. The conditions were horrible (read: beige water, surf, seasickness, vertigo & 5ft visibility) at the beach the first day and only slightly better in Catalina the second day. Of the 5 planned dives, 2 were aborted due to conditions. Ugh! Through it all Ron and Carlos were terrific. Even in the worst conditions, they had positive attitudes, a smile, and knew how to keep our confidence levels up. Since we didn't finish the course that weekend, Carlos worked with us over the next week to schedule our last dives and made every effort to make sure we all finished the following week. Thanks so much to both Ron and Carlos for making sure we finally got certified!
  • Currently 4.33/5
(3 votes)
Kevin Ryan on 2010-08-16 13:25:00
I couldn't be more pleased with my experience at Eco Dive. I always felt safe and I was always having fun. Most importantly, I left the class feeling very confident of my new skills and I was excited to move on to Advanced Open Water training. I should also point out that it wasn't just my instructor that I was impressed with, but the whole Eco Dive team - whoever was working the retail side of things was always very helpful, knowledgable and understanding. Thank you so much everyone!
  • Currently 5.00/5
(4 votes)
K B on 2010-07-01 23:37:05
I never write reviews, but I have to say that I enjoyed being certified so much by EDC that I have to give my recommendation. Tony and Ryan were great instructors...really enthusiastic, helpful, patient, and tons of fun. They understand the doubts or struggles that beginner divers may have, and they relate one on one with each student in order to directly help the students achieve their individual diving goals. Aside from the instructors, EDC has really created a fun atmosphere to get involved with. From their weekly boat trips to their discounted tropical excursions, there's something for everyone to participate in. I highly recommend being certified through them and becoming part of an awesome group of divers.
  • Currently 5.00/5
(1 vote)
lucas lambert on 2010-07-01 00:07:56
I took them up on their "online challenge" they promote in Diver News and was impressed. The deal thru eco dive is... Find it online and we'll beat the price. I walked away a happy camper with tons of new technical gear. Thumbs up for eco Dive Center!
  • Currently 5.00/5
(1 vote)
Stephan H on 2010-06-30 15:56:16
That's right. This place is as good as it gets, short of a Scuba convention. They have a good sized shop - everyone in the store are supremely experienced divers and they have fantastic customer service. I highly recommend anyone looking at Scuba to consider Eco for all their needs. Great people and if they don't have it, they can get it for you. It's always nice to get to a place where the people that work there are so enthusiastic about their sport! You can find them on a boat at least once a week!
  • Currently 3.00/5
(1 vote)
Bora K on 2010-06-30 15:43:46
Hi, my name is Bora and I'm afraid of deep water, claustrophobic, a slight germaphobe, and get seasick as soon as I step onto a boat. And yet, somehow I still managed to get my open water dive certification.

It took me a long time to come to the decision about getting this done because I didn't want to do it for the wrong reasons plus I didn't want it to backfire on me. I try to meet my fears head on but my attempt at bungee jumping to get over my fear of heights proved to be disastrous (when I refused to jump the worker agreed to let me off the tower but when I reached out to grab his hand, he pushed me off instead. My fear of heights is now worse than ever as a direct result of that particular incident) and I didn't want this to be a similar experience.

However, once I made the decision to go through with it, I threw myself into the quest of finding the best dive shop and outfitter available. After calling around and doing some extensive internet research, I settled on Eco Dive Center. It came very highly recommended (Thanks Simon!) and after comparing costs and schedules to 6-8 other shops in LA and Orange County, I felt like they were going to be my best bet.

The Basic Open Water Dive Certification can be completed in two weekends (You can do two consecutive weekends or skip a weekend in between but no more than that from what I was told). $595 will get you lifetime PADI Open Water Diver Certification, scuba equipment rentals for the entire course (this includes a wetsuit, BC, tank, octopus, and weights. You have to buy or provide your own personal gear- mask, snorkel, gloves, booties, and fins), training materials (online or book w/ DVDs- the online training cost is $120 alone and most other dive shops do not incorporate this fee into their total cost like Eco Dive Center), two pool training sessions (on 2 Saturdays), two boat tickets (2 Sunday boat trips with meals included to Catalina or off the coast of Ventura), lifetime annual scuba tune-ups, optional free beach dive training after completion of program which can be credited to your advanced diver rating, tank air-fills, and Dive Club membership. If you buy a complete Scuba System the tuition is refunded. All dive equipment in the shop is 10-30% off.

The cost of the certification really can't be beat but even that pales in comparison to the quality and level of instruction. Being a teacher myself, I have a tendency to focus on the instruction part of things and me having issues with deep water on top of everything, I was very aware of my instructors (Lee and Matt) and how they handled each student's trepidation and concerns. One thing that impressed me the most was how honest they were. Some students were asked to stop because it really wouldn't have been safe for them to go on the dives (physical problems such as a weak back, inability to equalize because of bad sinuses, not a strong swimmer etc). They were also incredibly thorough and very safety cautious. Even when I was told to do the same skill over and over until my instructor felt I had mastered it, I couldn't complain. This was my life we were dealing with, and as exhausted and cold I was at times, I was grateful that he was taking the time out to make sure I learned everything properly so that I would always be safe

This whole process of getting my open water dive certification wasn't an easy one. There were definitely times when I wanted to quit (it might help to do this with a friend since you'll have someone to keep you motivated and have a built-in buddy for certain skills), was freaking out (realizing underwater that the only thing keeping me alive were my wits and the air coming out of my regulator), scared out of my mind (jumping off the boat in full gear the first time was absolutely terrifying for me), and simply thinking I wasn't going to be able to finish (the first boat dive was physically draining especially because I wasn't accustomed to the weight of all the gear). But I am really happy and proud that I did it (and everyone keeps telling me if I can get certified in CA where the water is so cold, diving anywhere else in the world will be a breeze) but I have to give credit where credit is due and I could not have done it without the fantastic staff at Eco Dive Center. I couldn't recommend them more- if you want to get certified, they're the way to go.
  • Currently 5.00/5
(2 votes)
MWA H on 2010-06-30 15:40:00
The 5 stars are for the training I got on the Open Water Diver course. I was kinda scared of the ocean before I started but felt like I was getting good instruction and really trusted my instructor, which definitely made me feel safe enough to relax and enjoy being under water. My first boat trip was enough to get me hooked :) Laura is a great instructor--fun, no BS, doesn't seem to feel any need to scare you with horror stories.
As a store it's not cheap, but I felt like of the advice they gave me was honest and sensible, and it's not like they're jacking the prices up, it's just an expensive sport (sigh). They'll refund the cost of your open water certification course if you buy all your gear with them, but you have to buy *everything,* including the little accessories and a tank.
  • Currently 5.00/5
(1 vote)
Zeiggy L on 2010-06-30 15:36:59
Some of the best, most enthusiastic teachers around. Sometimes the owners and staff come off a little impatient or aloof in store, but it's a local business and they try very hard to provide education about marine life and ecology when possible. They usually have very exciting dive trips available too.
  • Currently 5.00/5
(1 vote)
Hubert Cheng on 2010-06-30 02:14:25
Eco Dive Center is the best! Carlos Linares taught me how to swim with sharks and other sea monsters of the deep. Please ask for him to instruct you how to dive properly.
  • Currently 4.00/5
(2 votes)
Richard Duong on 2010-06-30 00:12:45
Great dive shop with very friendly and knowledgeable staff. The owners Beth and Ron are very cool and have a ton of dive experience and knowledge. Also the instructors are great, very friendly, and thorough with instruction. I've taken classes with Carlos, Tim, Tony, and Laura as well as the owners Beth and Ron and have walked away a better diver after every class. I've even found a $20 bill in the ocean while taking the Navigation Specialty with Carlos.
  • Currently 4.00/5
(1 vote)
Robert Yoshioka on 2010-06-29 23:26:34
This past Christmas, my girlfriend bought us both Open Water certification classes through EcoDive. From arriving at EcoDive through completing my course, the experience has been amazing.

As the other reviewers have stated, the entire staff is super friendly and encouraging. They helped me purchase fins (Mares Raptors) and a mask (Atomic Frameless) (as I already had a snorkel from a previous diving course and the booties and gloves were included in the tuition.) With the fins and mask Laura helped us select the perfect pair without over selling. She told us what she used and the benefits of both a higher and lower end model. At no point did I ever feel pressured into buying a "top of the line" model.

The Wednesday before our first class we went to pick up the remainder of our gear and Laura again helped fit us. The wetsuits and weights she selected by sight fit perfectly and did us well on the dives. As for the class and dives, our instructor Tim Yeo was absolutely amazing. Both funny and informative, he quickly ran through our study material and got us in the water as soon as possible. The instruction he provided in both the pool and open water was equally as great and while neither my girlfriend nor I had any problems, our classmates who struggled with breathing and equalizing their ears were kindly cared for by Tim. I honestly attribute my great experience in both the pool and our open water dive at Casino Point to Tim.

Our second dive was just as fun. While it was not with Tim, Carlos Linares proved to be just as amazing of an instructor as Tim. We met up with him for a fun night aboard the Sand Dollar prior to the next morning's dive. Throughout the day he was extremely knowledgeable about everything we had to complete for our final three dives.

I think the best part about our experience is that we have stayed friends with both Tim and Carlos - going on numerous dives with our new certifications. Through both their enthusiasm and Eco's free rental days they keep us wet and looking forward to taking more classes.
  • Currently 4.00/5
(1 vote)

Add Your Review

 

   
4027 Sepulveda Blvd. Culver City, (West Los Angeles), CA 90230  1-310-398-5759
Open Everyday 10:00am to 7:00PM Monday to Saturday 10-6pm on Sunday 
www.ScubaDivingLA.com   www.ScubaGearExpress.com www.DiveCenter.com  www.ScubaLA.com   www.WestLADiveClub.org
Copyright © 2004–2017 EcoDiveCenter.com. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Website Design by Speedy Solutions, Inc.